Meet The Author, Patrick Adams

Enjoy getting to know, Patrick Adams:

22264746_10155872633438982_325282322_n

Thank you for joining me today. Tell us in three words how you would best describe your writing.

Inspired By Travel.

Your book, “Lisa Goes to India” is set to release in January 2018. Please share a passage with us that you’d like for us to enjoy.

Jonathan and Ravi started running around with the monkeys. “Be careful, you guys,” shouted Daniel. It was too late. The boys and the monkeys were laughing and running, heading towards the Taj Mahal. To get away from Ravi and Jonathan, the monkeys climbed all the way up Taj Mahal to the top. “Whew,” said Bali, the monkey. Then, looking down, he realized it was easier climbing up than it was going back down. They were stuck!

You’ve been presented with the opportunity to be a best-selling author, but can never write again, or write forever, but never have a bestseller. Which scenario sounds more tempting?

Write forever but never have a bestseller. I can live with #2 on the New York Times Best Seller List 😊.

If you could live on a college campus and never leave, or live in a small town but be able to travel, which one would you choose?

Super easy choice! Live in a small town but be able to travel. Unless that college campus was in Tahiti or Fiji……

Okay, how about in an amusement park or in an airport?

Amusement Park. Last time I checked, Airports don’t have Roller Coasters, Games, Shows, and Fireworks.

And how about Ireland or Germany?

This is a tough choice, but if I have to pick one, I’ll go with Ireland. I don’t tend to learn new languages easily, so I’d assimilate better into Ireland. Unless I’m in a part that only speaks Gaelic.

Who is your favorite 90’s band (I’m thinking Counting Crows, Blink 182, Hootie & the Blowfish)?

Not many people may remember them, but my favorite 90’s band is Tripping Daisy. Their first album, Bill, is incredible. Some may remember their song “I Got a Girl” from their second album, I Am an Elastic Firecracker, as that was a fairly big hit on radio and MTV and got skewered by Beavis and Butthead. I’ve re-discovered them recently and their entire back catalog. Huge fan of their singer, Tim DeLaughter, who went on to front two other bands, Polyphonic Spree and Preteen Zenith. I was happy to learn Tripping Daisy had reunited this year.

Are there any good bands out there today that we’ll talk about in 50 years?

I wish there were. I don’t see bands of today sporting 40+ years of longevity like the Rolling Stones and U2. Of course, I could be wrong and One Direction will still be HUGE in 2067.

And what about your favorite comedy on TV (My favorite is still The Office)?

The Big Bang Theory, hands down. I never get tired of watching it, and the characters are brilliantly written. In the 80’s and 90’s, it was Married With Children. You gotta love Al Bundy. We’ve all felt like him at one time or another.

Is there anything you’re currently working on?

I have multiple projects going on. My first novel, “The Vacationer”, is under developmental edit. Targeting a 2018 release. It is a harrowing story about a man experiencing a life crisis as he journeys across the globe on a path of self-destruction. Will he be saved? Can he be saved? Amazing Lisa children’s book series: The fourth installment, “Lisa Goes to India”, is currently being illustrated. Rhythm’s World children’s book series: The third book, and the start of a series of books themed around travel, called “Rhythm’s World Tour Vol 1: North America” is currently being illustrated.

Putting the final touches on a new blog series about travel called Diary of a Travelman. It’s based on another book I wrote, featuring humorous and poignant travel stories from my journeys around the world. Debuting November 2017.

Planning a Podcast that will spotlight up and coming authors and travel bloggers. Tentatively titled “Book It! with Patrick Adams”, I’m looking to give a voice and a spotlight to those with a creative vision. Targeting a debut in January 2018.

Who is your favorite author and if you could ask him/her one question, what would it be?

My favorite author is J.K. Rowling. My question would be: “Did you map out the entire Harry Potter series story before you wrote the first book?” I’m curious how much she planned that wonderful story out over seven books.

22290401_10155872633893982_423360457_n

Lightning round:

Ocean or mountains? Oceans. Less climbing involved.

Yogurt or ice cream? Ice Cream!

Chocolate or Sour Candy? Chocolate in a landslide.

Jimmy Fallon or Stephen Colbert? Jimmy Fallon. Loved him on SNL.

Happy or sad ending to a novel? Happy, always.

Beer or wine? Wine. Red.

Flying or driving? Flying. Gets me there faster with no traffic jams.

Hemingway or Twain? Twain. Not sure why.

You’re stranded on a desert island, and you can take two things with you, as well as two people. What and who are you bringing?

Things: A spear for fishing and a flashlight.
People: My wife and daughter. Because I’ll surely get an earful if I don’t pick them.

You’re able to sit down with any leader in world history. Who would you choose, what would you talk about, and would you rather have him/her over to your house, or meet at their place of royalty?

I would choose Queen Elizabeth II of England. I would read her my book, “Lisa Goes to England”, because she stars in it in one scene. If I could get her seal of approval on my book, skies the limit! We would definitely meet at her place of royalty!

You can wish for one thing and one thing only (not world peace and no more wishes). What’s it gonna be?

Since you didn’t exclude money, I’d have to say a bank account with $1 Billion dollars in it. My family and kids would be set for generations and I could definitely be a full-time writer and traveler 😊

Bio:
Patrick Adams, founder of Patrick Adams Books, is the author of the Amazing Lisaand Rhythm’s World children’s book series. His journeys around the world inspired him to become a writer. As a book architect, Patrick is dedicated not only to publishing his own books but also helping other independent authors achieve their dream of seeing their children’s books come to life, and getting published. Through his blog, “Rhythm’s Miracles”, and the Rhythm’s World book series, Patrick is a strong supporter of families dealing with a rare form of Epilepsy called Infantile Spasms.

Patrick on Facebook
Patrick on Twitter
Patrick on Instagram 
Patrick’s Books on Instagram 
Patrick on Pinterest
Patrick on Amazon 
Patrick’s Blog

Leave a comment